DSC08422.jpg

But how did we come up with the idea to produce sustainable surf fins from plastic? And how did we develop this idea into an actual product?

AN IDEA

The story of SIEVE begins several years ago on a beach in Denmark when Sebastian collects plastic that has washed up on the shore. He then started to think about how to prevent plastic from getting into our oceans in the first place. And so he starts to form the idea of making some of his own surfing equipment, the surf fins, from recycled plastic himself, to offer a sustainable alternative to conventional surf fins and to advocate for the responsible use of plastic.

7_edited_edited.png
Plastik am Strand

reduce

recycle

repair

presse.tif

A PROTOTYPE

With a lot of passion and commitment, Sebastian pursues his idea of producing sustainable surf fins from recycled plastic. The first prototype is produced by hand on a small machine on his roof terrace.

It becomes clear: the idea works. However, a more professional manufacturing process is neededd to produce fins with the desired quality.

DSC08725.jpg

A PROFESSIONAL PROCESS

In the search for the right production partner, we come across the company Reichle GmbH. From the very beginning they are willing to support us with a lot of expertise, creativity and production resources. Thus, an exciting cooperation between industry and start-up emerges, which makes it possible to realize the idea of SIEVE. Together we designed, developed and implemented our surf fins. In addition, Reichle's expertise in laser texture enabled us to develop a unique surface design for the surf fins. SIEVE was also supported by Reichle during production and was able to produce the first surf fins on their in-house injection molding machine. 

Reichle GmbH Sieve Fins Design
Sebastian Sieve Fins

OUR SUSTAINABLE SURF FINS

This is how an idea, a product, a team, a company has grown. Currently we produce our sustainable Single Fin, Thruster Fins and Twin Fins. But we already have many new ideas and are constantly developing Sieve. 

 

If you want to know more about our founding and development, listen to the Surf Talk Podcast episode (only German). Here we tell you more about the idea and the development of Sieve.

DSC08422.jpg

Wie kommt man eigentlich auf die Idee Surf Finnen aus recycletem Plastik herzustellen? Und wie wird aus dieser Idee dann ein Produkt?

EINE IDEE

Die Geschichte von SIEVE beginnt bereits vor einigen Jahren an einem Strand in Dänemark damit, dass Sebastian angeschwemmtes Plastik aufsammelt. Er setzt sich daraufhin mit der Frage auseinander, wie verhindert werden kann, dass Kunststoff überhaupt erst in unsere Meere gelangt. Und so beginnt die Idee, einen Teil der eigenen Surfausrüstung, die Surffinnen, aus recyceltem Plastik selbst herzustellen, um eine nachhaltige Alternative zu herkömmlichen Surf-Finnen zu bieten und sich für den verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit Kunststoff einzusetzen.

7_edited_edited.png
Plastik am Strand

reduce

recycle

repair

presse.tif

EIN PROTOTYP

Mit viel Begeisterung setzt sich Sebastian für die Realisierung seiner Idee ein, nachhaltige Surf Finnen aus recycletem Plastik zu fertigen und produziert die ersten Prototypen noch von Hand auf einer selbstgebauten Maschine auf seiner Dachterasse.

Es wird klar: die Idee funktioniert. Es fehlt jedoch an einem professionellen Fertigungsprozess, um Finnen mit der gewünschten Qualität zu produzieren.

DSC08725.jpg

EIN PROFESSIONELLER FERTIGUNGSPROZESS

Auf der Suche nach dem richtigen Produktionspartner entsteht der Kontakt zu der Firma Reichle GmbH. Von Anfang an sind sie bereit, uns mit viel Expertise, Kreativität und Produktionsressourcen zu unterstützen. So entsteht eine spannende Kooperation zwischen Industrie und Start-up, die es ermöglicht, die Idee von SIEVE zu realisieren. Gemeinsam haben wir unsere Surf Finnen designt, entwickelt und umgesetzt. Zusätzlich konnte durch die Expertise der Firma Reichle im Bereich Lasertextur ein einzigartiges Oberflächendesign der Surf-Finnen entwickelt werden. Auch bei der Produktion wurde SIEVE von der Firma Reichle unterstützt und konnte die ersten Surffinnen auf der hauseigenen Spritzgussmaschine produzieren. 

Reichle GmbH Sieve Fins Design
Sebastian Sieve Fins

Unsere nachhaltigen Surf Finnen

So ist aus einer Idee, ein Produkt, ein Team, ein Unternehmen geworden. Aktuell produzieren wir unsere nachhaltigen Single Fin, Thruster Finnen und Twin Fins. Doch wir haben bereits viele neue Ideen und entwickeln auch Sieve stetig weiter. 

Wenn du Lust hast noch mehr zu unsere Gründung & Entstehung zu erfahren, dann hör doch mal in die Surf Talk Podcast Folge rein. Hier erzählen wir noch mehr zu Idee und zum Aufbau von Sieve.